Poisson 2010 - Poisson Geometry in Mathematics and Physics

IMPA, Rio de Janeiro, de 20/07 até 30/07, 2010

Poisson geometry has its historical roots in the 19th century formulation of classical mechanics, going back to the work of Poisson, Hamilton and Lie. The subject has undergone major development in the past decades, and it is now at the crossroads of several areas of (pure and applied) mathematics and theoretical physics, including diff

erential geometry and Lie theory, noncommutative algebra and quantization, representation theory and quantum groups, differential equations and integrable systems, geometric mechanics and numerical methods, among others.
The conference on Poisson Geometry 2010 is the 7th event of a series of biennial meetings on Poisson geometry and related topics.

School on Poisson Geometry

From 07/20 – 23

School Schedule


Gil Cavalcanti (Utrecht)
Holomorphic Poisson and generalized Kaehler structures

Alberto Cattaneo (Zurich)
Introduction to supermanifolds
Lectures notes (by A. Cattaneo and F. Schaetz)

Jiang-Hua Lu (Hong Kong)
Poisson Lie groups and Poisson homogeneous spaces

Ieke Moerdijk (Utrecht)
Introduction to Lie groupoids and Lie algebroids

Conference on Poisson Geometry

From 07/26 to 07/30


Camilo Arias Abad (Zurich)
Anton Alekseev (Genève)
Damien Calaque (Lyon)
Marius Crainic (Utrecht)
Ezra Getzler (Evanston)
Marco Gualtieri (Toronto)
Reimundo Heluani (Berkeley)
Yvette Kosmann-Schwarzbach (Palaiseau)
Eckhard Meinrenken (Toronto)
Sergei Merkulov (Stockholm)
Eva Miranda (Barcelona)
Tudor Ratiu (Lausanne)
Travis Schedler (Boston)
Pavol Severa (Bratislava)
Reyer Sjamaar (Ithaca)
Mathieu Stienon (Paris)
Xiang Tang (St. Louis)
Bernardo Uribe (Bogota)
Izu Vaisman (Haifa)
Stefan Waldmann (Freiburg)
Alan Weinstein (Berkeley)
Ping Xu (State College)
Nguyen Tien Zung (Toulouse)

Titles and Abstracts


Schedules, Videos and Pictures

School Schedule

Conference Schedule


A. Lichnerowicz Prize



Organizing Committee:

Henrique Bursztyn (IMPA, local contact)
Giuseppe Dito (U. Bourgogne, Dijon)
Marcos Jardim (Unicamp, Campinas)
Jair Koiller (FGV, Rio de Janeiro)
Leonardo Macarini (UFRJ, Rio de Janeiro)

Scientific Committee:

Rui Loja Fernandes (IST, Lisbon), Chair
Eckhard Meinrenken (U. Toronto)
Yvette Kosmann-Schwarzbach (Ecole Polytechnique)
Tudor Ratiu (EPFL, Lausanne)
Alan Weinstein (U. C. Berkeley)

Advisory Committee:

Anton Alekseev (Genève)
Alberto S. Cattaneo (Zurich)
Marius Crainic (Utrecht)
Giuseppe Dito (Dijon)
Giovanni Felder (ETH-Zurich)
Janusz Grabowski (Warsaw)
Simone Gutt (Brussels)
Jiang-Hua Lu (Hong Kong)
Yoshiaki Maeda (Keio)
Nguyen Tien Zung (Toulouse)



Poster Session

List of all Posters

We are planning to have a poster session during the conference. If you would like to present a poster, please submit it to pg2010@impa.br by June 30, 2010.


Lectures / Poster-Lecture



Postal Address: Instituto Nacional de Matemática Pura e Aplicada 
Estrada Dona Castorina 110, Jardim Botânico
Rio de Janeiro, RJ, CEP 22460-320, Brasil 
E-mail: eventos@impa.br